Hilton Head ~ Symphony Orchestra

Event Details

Hilton Head Symphony Orchestra

Music Director John Morris Russell will be joined by pianist Michelle Cann to perform the Piano Concerto in One Movement by the African-American composer, Florence Price on November 14 & 15, 2021 at First Presbyterian Church.
The concerts will open with Leonard Bernstein’s Three Dance Episodes from On The Town, and Felix Mendelssohn’s stirring Symphony No. 5, “Reformation” will conclude the performances.
Michelle Cann made her orchestral debut at 14 and has performed as a soloist with ensembles including the Philadelphia Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Florida Orchestra, North Carolina Symphony, and the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra.

michelle cain A champion of the music of Florence Price, Ms. Cann performed the New York City premiere of the composer’s Concerto in One Movement with The Dream Unfinished Orchestra in July 2016 and the Philadelphia premiere with The Philadelphia Orchestra and Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin in February 2021. which the Philadelphia Inquirer called “exquisite.”
She has also performed Price’s works for solo piano and chamber ensemble for Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Chamber Music Society of Detroit, and the New World Symphony, among others.
Each concert will be preceded by a discussion led by John Morris Russell and beginning one hour prior to the concert start time.

Sunday, November 14 at 4:00 pm & Monday, November 15 at 7:30 pm
First Presbyterian Church
Tickets & Info Online Here