Fort Fremont Exhibit
Visitors to Beaufort History Museum are invited to explore the history of Fort Fremont, a fortification built by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on Saint Helena Island in 1898, by viewing a special exhibit that displays award-winning images and a modern instructional video featuring exclusive drone photography of the site.
The Exhibit was officially introduced to Beaufort History Museum Board Members and Friends of Fort Freemont at an open house on July 15. The images featured are loaned to the Museum by noted Savannah photographer Mike Tillison. BHM Board Member Jeff Kidd created the video, a preview of which may be accessed at: https://www.facebook.com/Beaufort.History.Museum/videos/393167394933323/
Fort Fremont was constructed in response to the Spanish American War to defend the coaling station and dry dock at the Port Royal Naval Station located on Parris Island. It was one of six fortifications designated to protect the southeast coast during the war. It honors Major General John C. Fremont who was a Republican Presidential Candidate and Union Civil War General. The Fort was officially deactivated in 1912.
Beaufort History Museum has evolved to focus specifically on the history of the Beaufort District. It strives to manage and display artifacts and documents held by the City of Beaufort, telling the compelling stories of this area from the early 16th Century until modern times. Docent classes are conducted on an ongoing basis.
The Arsenal address is 713 Craven Street. Normal BHM hours of operation are 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM, Tuesday – Saturday. Docents are on duty to provide information and conduct tours. Please visit www.beauforthistorymuseum.com or the BHM Facebook page for updates and news from the Museum.
For information on becoming a Docent or Volunteer Greeter contact the Museum at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 843-379-3079.