Old Town Bluffton
A drive to Old Town Bluffton is always a good idea. The historic architecture and river views are spectacular. There is also a hidden gem worked into the landscape. Today’s outing started at the Heyward House, located at 70 Boundary St. This property has been in Bluffton since 1841. The house serves as Bluffton’s official Welcome Center and museum. The house is decorated in period furnishings and is complete with artifacts that tell the story of Bluffton, and the people that once lived there. There are also outbuildings located behind the house that represent a cook house and slave quarters.
For more information on the Heyward House https://www.heywardhouse.org/ .
Another historic treasure is located just a few streets away at 110 Calhoun Street. The Church of the Cross has stood on the bluff of the May River since 1854. This Gothic structure celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2004.
Additional history on the church can be found here http://www.thechurchofthecross.net/history
The oldest church in Old Town Bluffton dates to 1853. The Bluffton Methodist Church building was purchased by nine former slaves in 1874. Campbell Chapel AME Church was formed by these visionary founding fathers. While the structure has been altered and renovated over the years, the original structure still stands strong and proud.
For more information https://www.campbellchapelame.com/our-sanctuary/
The Bluffton Oyster Company has been a part of Old Town Bluffton since 1899. It sits on is reclaimed land at the end of Warf Street. This land built up by more than a hundred years’ worth of discarded shells. Situated directly adjacent is the Oyster Factory Park. The park has a nature trail which is unique for the Old Town area. There is also a firepit area, a playground and plenty of picnic spots. Restrooms are conveniently located here also.
For more information http://blufftonoyster.com/
The Garvin-Garvey Freeman’s Cottage is located inside the park. This historically significant house has recently undergone extensive renovations. It is believed that former slave Cyrus Garvin built the house on the property of his former owner.
Views of the May River are spectacular from the front porch. Tours are available through the Heyward House.
Another fun stop in Old Town is the Pritchard Pocket Garden. Located where the street meets the river, this little hidden gem was worth the trouble of finding it. Parking is along the road. Entrance is through a small gate and down a short path. Benches are set up on the bluff that overlooks the May River. It is a calm and relaxing spot to breathe in the SC Lowcountry at its finest, and a great way to end the day exploring Old Town Bluffton.
There are many other fun and interesting attractions in Old Town Bluffton. For more information visit https://southcarolinalowcountry.com/bluffton-day-trips/.